Here’s to new adventure’s…

A few months ago, I had no idea what this Spring Semester was going to look like. Like previous experiences in my life, I have made plans for my future and God just simply has a way of redirecting me. It’s as if He is saying…”what are you doing Breanna?? You may think that you have great plans in mind, but mine are so much better. So let me just kindly place something better in front of you”. God has a way of doing that in my life.

Here’s the short version of how I got here…Some may know this already but for over a year I had plans to study abroad in Australia this semester. I had chosen my University, applied, chosen my classes, and everything was good to go. 3 days after I got my acceptance letter, this program in Ecuador was placed in front of me. Nothing in me wanted to do it. I was set on Australia. But after thinking more about the program and opportunities here, God began nudging at my heart. After talking to people within the Quito program, my family, friends, and my advisors at TIU, things began falling in place. So 3 months later, here I am–in the middle of South America on an adventure that seems like a dream. God knew what He was doing.

My wonderful boyfriend, Nelson, is actually studying down here as well (amazing story in itself of how the Lord brought him here too) so we traveled down together on January 24th. Countless times we looked at each other and said, “what are we doing??”. It felt like this day was never going to come. But here it is and this is our new home for the next 3 and 1/2 months. Lucky me, I was blessed with altitude sickness the first night–that was quite the warm welcome. The other students arrived the following night so we spent the day with our RA’s (Jed and Ashleigh) walking around town and going to the market.

The other students came and it was so pleasant meeting them all. There are 11 of us (9 girls and 2 RA’s) living in a 4 bedroom apartment downtown. The boys (5 and 1 RA) live in another apartment down the road. Our team is great, deep connections are already being established. The past two days have been filled with orientation. We’ve walked around town, taken taxi’s everywhere, devoured delicious Ecuadorian food, gone to the markets, played games, and spent a lot of time hanging out as a team and getting to know each other.

We have incredible staff leading us–God completely shines through them all. The students are amazing and I am so thankful to be in such a wonderful environment. Once classes begin on Monday, “real life” here in Quito should begin. For now, we’re all just exploring the beautiful city and looking forward to what God has in store for us down here.

~ by breannaleigh on January 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
