the Atonement Child

I just finished reading “The Atonement Child” by Francine Rivers last night. What an incredible book! It’s about a young girl who’s in college with what seems like “the perfect life”-great family, solid faith, steady friends, and is engaged to an amazing young man-until one night when she’s walking home from work and gets raped by a man who she was never able to recognize. To make matters worse, she becomes pregnant; her life begins to unravel and things fall apart. I don’t wanna ruin the entire story for those who haven’t read it. But let me tell you, it’s a story of redemption, true love, and how God’s hand is in everything.

Reading about Dynah who becomes pregnant and has to make the hardest decision of her life, deciding if she wants to keep the child forming in her by a man she never knew, gets me to think of how much God values each and everyone of us. Throughout this book I was reminded of Psalm 139:13-17

“For you formed my inward parts;
   you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.
 My frame was not hidden from you,when I was being made in secret,
   intricately woven in the depths of the earth.Your eyes saw my unformed substance;in your book were written, every one of them,
   the days that were formed for me,
   when as yet there was none of them.”

It’s self explanatory. His hand was upon every stage-forming us into His image and beauty. He creates, values, cherishes, loves, adores every single one of His children. Words simply can’t accurately describe His affection towards us.

I wish everyone would live like this. Knowing that they have incredible value and worth because the Creator of the universe knit them together in the womb! Wouldn’t this place be different? Wouldn’t people react to situations differently? Wouldn’t people treat others extremely different? Oh how I just desire that we would all realize our dignity, identity, and destiny. Imagine the joy…

~ by breannaleigh on August 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
