The WILD GOOSE.

I love adventure. Celtic Christians had a name for the Holy Spirit that intrigues me: “the Wild Goose”. Like a wild goose, the Spirit of God cannot be tracked or tamed. He will take us places we never could have imagined going by paths we never knew existed.

Does this not excite you?? For me, it puts a little anxiety into my spirit. Where’s He gonna take me next? What lies ahead? Knowing that He always has more for me to experience and learn makes it impossible to be bored or complacent in my faith.

Little did I think that when I came home from YWAM this spring that I would end up at Trinity International University-let alone school at all!! My plans were to either go to the School of Biblical Studies, a secondary school through YWAM, in Montana or attend Francis Chan’s Bible school in California. But the Wild Goose had different plans for me-what’s new?!

I began looking at schools just to check ’em out. Eventually, my original plans changed DRASTICALLY and I had narrowed it down to 3 schools out on the west coast. And let me tell you, I was dead set on going out there-nothing was stopping me! At the end of April, I visited my really good friend from high school, Courtney Ensz, at Trinity International.  Just my luck, I REALLY liked the school. The people, location, size… everything seemed perfect.

Now I was in a tangle. I had my mind set on the west coast, but I absolutely loved Trinity. I eventually narrowed it down to George Fox in Oregon or TIU in Chicago. Now how was I gonna choose?? I did everything trying to make a final decision-made pros & cons lists, talked to my parents, close friends, prayed constantly, payed close attention to my dreams at night, etc but it was so hard…

It was already nearing the end May, time was closing in, and I still hadn’t made my decision. Until I woke up one morning…

And everything clicked. Trinity it was. And it was nothing but The Wild Goose. How do I know? Because it was the same way I heard Him when I knew I was supposed to do YWAM: it all just clicked. Everything was clear, it all made perfect sense, and COMPLETE peace was given. I can’t really explain how clear it was. And this is how sure I am-not even 1 doubt or fear has entered my mind regarding my decision since!

Proverbs 16:9-“In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps”. So this is the adventure I’m on. This is where the Wild Goose has taken me. And I have nothing but excitement towards my future… I am completely ready for what awaits me.

~ by breannaleigh on August 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
